top of page

The 5 Love Languages

Updated: Mar 15, 2022

❤ Valentine's Day is coming up! Let's celebrate the month of LOVE.

Over the past week, I have been building on how to show love for ourselves. By loving yourself and taking care of your health, you are able to be the best version of yourself.

“How you love yourself is how you teach others to love you.” – Rupi Kaur

Once you are able to foster and care for yourself properly then can you start caring for those around you well. At one point in my life, I felt that I was having difficulty in my marriage. I was crying all the time, my children would ask me: "mommy, why are you crying?" I hold back my tears and bring myself back. I was dying inside. I'm sure most couples have issues at one point in their marriage. I remember calling my good friend, and just sobbing over the phone to her. On multiple occasions, she would recommend reading The 5 Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman. I was thinking to myself, when will I have time to read this book. Once again I called her crying, she would of course recommend this book again. This time I finally picked up the book and started to read it, I read it in one day. And thanks to my dear friend and The 5 Love Languages; it saved my marriage. This book helped me open my heart and mind. Finally my "love tank" is full.

“Can emotional love be reborn? You bet! The key is to learn the primary love language of your spouse and choose to speak it.”

- Gary Chapman

Dr. Gary Chapman's love languages has helped me understand myself more and how to apply these concepts in my own marriage. Knowing your partner's love language and letting them know yours can help you both feel loved and appreciated.

What are the love languages? There are 5 love languages:

❤ Words of Affirmation

❤ Quality Time

❤ Acts of Service

❤ Receiving Gifts

❤ Physical Touch

I have also observed my children and seen how they express themselves. By observing my own children, I have begun to understand them more.

“Inside every child is an 'emotional rani's waiting to be filled with love. When a child really feels loved, he will develop normally but when the love tank is empty, the child will misbehave. Much of the misbehavior of children is motivated by the cravings of an empty 'love tank”

- Gary Chapman

While I was researching what other books are out there. I have also recently discovered Chapman's other books:

  • The 5 Love Languages of Children

  • The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers

  • A Teen's Guild to the 5 Love Languages

  • The 5 Love Languages the Singles Edition

  • The 5 Love Languages for Men

  • The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace

  • The 5 Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

I would highly recommend picking up a copy of Dr. Gary Chapman's - The 5 Love Languages for yourself or those around you.

“Treat your relationship as if you are growing the most beautiful sacred flower. Keep watering it, tend to the roots, and always make sure the petals are full of color and are never curling. Once you neglect your plant, it will die, as will your relationship.”

- Suzy Kassem

Say "Hi" on social:

Article Disclaimer

The entire contents of this article are based upon the opinions of Blenda Chan. Please note that Blenda Chan is not a dietitian, physician, pharmacist or other licensed healthcare professional. The information in this article is NOT intended as medical advice, nor is it intended to replace the care of a qualified health care professional. This content is not intended to diagnose or treat any diseases. Always consult with your primary care physician or licensed healthcare provider for all diagnosis and treatment of any diseases or conditions, for medications or medical advice as well as before changing your health care regimen.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page